Foundation for Dubuque Public Schools

Our Mission: Support student achievement by promoting investment in the Dubuque Public Schools.


We are a nonprofit committed to providing resources for all students of the Dubuque Community School District.

  • We are creating a permanent funding source for Dubuque public schools by raising an endowment through major and planned gifts.
  • We work with businesses, foundations and private donors to build general, endowed and designated funds for educational programs in the district.
  • We support the Dubuque Community School District's mission of developing world-class learners and citizens of character in a safe and inclusive learning community.

2022 FDPS Annual Fundraising Event

We are back in person, be sure to save the date and join us for a fun, spirited event on April 20th. We will still celebrate the achievements of our public school students and highlight projects and programs that were supported by the foundation throughout the year. It promises to be a wonderful event, bringing the community together in support of our schools, teachers, and students after two years of not gathering in person.

Without this annual event in-person for the past couple of years, some of you may be asking what is it again and why is it so important?

This event is a fundraiser that supports the FDPS operating budget and allows our organization to fulfill our mission of supporting student achievement by promoting investment in the Dubuque Public Schools. The foundation supports district projects and programs that go beyond the school district’s budget. Some examples of our support include field trips, hands on learning projects, new books and technology, after-school programming, classroom grants, essential items for success in school, and funding for music and arts education. Making sure we have resources available to help students succeed gives our students and staff a competitive edge, ensuring that our schools are attractive to families for years to come.

Please reserve your spot today and we look forward to seeing you at the Grand River Center on Wednesday, April 20th from 4:00 – 6:30 pm. The impact you can have on Dubuque’s public school teachers, staff, and students is priceless!

Register Now

Latest News

Sign up for our Honor Roll newsletter.

* indicates required

Show your support.

There are many ways for you to make a difference for public school students in Dubuque.

Judi Chandlee Tribute to Teachers Grants

The family of Judi Chandlee, a longtime Dubuque Community School District teacher, has established an endowment fund in her memory with the Foundation for Dubuque Public Schools. This fund supports annual classroom grants to teachers across the district. A minimum of $5,000 will be distributed each year to fund equipment, supplies or innovative educational experiences in Dubuque’s public schools.

Learn more and apply

Dine Out for Dubuque Public Schools

Save the date! On April 21, we and participating restaurants will host this annual event to raise funds for projects and programs in the Dubuque public schools not covered by the district's annual budget. Thank you to everyone who has participated in past years, and we look forward to continuing our impact in 2022!

2021 was an Impactful Year in the Public Schools

Below is a link to the 2021 Annual Update and a video. Thank you to all of our donors who have invested in our students. Your gifts empower so many!

Read Our Update

Our Board of Directors

Zach Hodge, President
Lauren Czeshinski, Vice President
Mathew Langenberg, Treasurer
Josh Weidemann, Immediate Past President
Tammy Duehr
Kevin Eipperle
Doug Horstmann
Dawn McCoy
Derek Olberding
Tim Perkins
Maureen Quann
Whitney Sanger
Amy Schauer
Ulrike Schultz
Katie Stork
Nan Welch
Ted Stieber (Life Member)
Stan Rheingans (Ex Officio)
Amy Unmacht (Ex Officio)

Our Vision: All Dubuque Community School District students will have the resources they need to succeed.

Here for you. Amy Unmacht Foundation for Dubuque Public Schools Executive Director 563-588-2700